Who is your feminist icon?


Virginia Woolf, one feminist icon

Virginia Woolf, one feminist icon

I have feminist icons on my mind. That’s why after mentioning them in my post yesterday, I keep bumping into examples of who these icons actually are and what they are doing to help us connect with one another.

Consider these examples:

Each of us identifies with different strong women from the past or present. They could be people you know or people you have only read about.

Who is your feminist icon? Add her or him to the comments section below.

7 Responses

  1. Mary Wollstonecraft! A big influence in my life and when I read her book, that is what officially ‘started’ my feminist journey.

  2. Thanks for your comment. Yes, Wollstonecraft seems to have started it all. It’s so cool you are writing to us from the UK.

  3. Why Virginia Woolf of course. I am revisiting “A Room of One’s Own” as I move into my very first apartment of my own. Now I have 5 rooms all to myself.

  4. My feminist icon is Gloria Steinem. I graduated from college the same year you did and really thought I could change the world. I went to law school believing the world could be changed. While I am 59 and much more jaded I still do believe we can make a difference. Women’s Studies really is one of the places on a college campus where women can feel free to discuss controversial topics, have an opinion, read some influential writers and get busy changing the world.
    Mindy… five rooms all to yourself. That is A Room Of One’s One!!! Get a special space to write and read. Make it really your space.

  5. By the way, if you go to check out the Women and Power conference check out all the programs at the Omega Center. They are amazing!! I spend hours sometimes just checking out their offerings.

  6. Of course my feminist icon is Gloria Steinem too. I wish we could bring her to campus. I have always wanted to meet her. I keep wondering whether young women on the UA campus — and surrounding area — would like to meet her as well. Maybe I should put up a poll!

  7. Woolf delivered her lecture of ‘a room of one’s own’ at my College in Cambridge (Newnham)! I have that book, and hopefully after I finished with my thesis, I will get to read it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

