If you seek Amy is negative influence on teen girls


Editor’s Note: This post was written by a student in the Spring 2009 Feminist Theory class in The University of Akron’s Women’s Studies Program. To read more student posts, click here.

Last month a friend and I won tickets to the Britny Spears concert in Pittsburgh through a contest on the radio. In spite of the fact that I have never really been a Britny fan, I humored my friend and attended the concert anyway.

Upon entrance to the concert I looked around only to realize that the majority of the people attending the concert were females between the age of 12 and 40. I also realized that the females walking in were dressed as if they were walking into a night club. They were decked out in tight, revealing outfits complete with high heels.

As I noticed these females, I was flabbergasted. My friend and I are in our mid-twenties, and we were the most conservatively dressed women there.

As we made our way to our seats, many things alarmed me; these young children — for lack of better words — looked like cheap hookers. These children were showing everything that no one wants to see on a twelve-year-old.

As the mothers stood close by admiring their daughters home-made tank tops with the phrase, “It’s Britny Bitch” on the front, I was appalled. I stood at the gift table behind the little girls and their mothers while they purchased thong underwear and boy shirts with the phrase, “If you seek Amy.”  The Pussycat Dolls were opening for Britny, so I thought maybe Amy was one of the Pussycat Dolls.

I soon came to find out the hidden message behind “If you seek Amy.” Apparently if you say the phrase fast, it spells F-u-*-K Me!

Completely taken back, I couldn’t believe it. My friend laughed and said that was the name of Britny’s new song. I whispered to her as if no one but us knew the secret message, “Does everyone know about this message?”

She said, “Yeah, its been all over the radio!”

I couldn’t believe that these mothers were standing there purchasing merchandise that promoted this message. I was devastated that these mothers thought this message and the other messages that Britny promotes were what they wanted their daughters to promote too.

These girls were being exploited sexually, and their mothers were condoning it! I am all for sexual freedom, but not for a twelve-year-old. Society is forcing our children to grow up before their time, and we just hop on the band wagon.

I have no problem with Britny Spears, but I’ll be damn if I’m going to let my child view her as a role model. Society should be promoting strong, healthy, intelligent women instead of Britny Spears.

Leave a Reply

