Final day in Guatemala


Today is my last day in Panajachel. I had all that test anxiety for nothing. There wasn’t a test. But it was better that I thought there was because it  made me really study. I did learn an amazing amount and think everyone should try this.

I have some random thoughts.

We walked to a park with a Mayan woman yesterday. She said she learned Mayan as a child and then was told in school they could no longer speak it

That was during the war. It is no longer forbidden, and they are now actually teaching it in school. People are very proud to be Mayan, and I was told some people lie about it because they want to be indigenous for tourists.

While we were in the park I was bitten by around 30 mosquitoes.  I really reacted and had to buy antihistamines in the drugstore. If I wasn’t so simple, I would be miserable. Screaming boy, roving wild dogs, misquitoes, car sickness, etc. But instead, I am very happy and think this is a great place to learn Spanish.

At my school there are people from all around the world. Right now a man from Japan is sitting next to me using the computer. I met people from France, Switzerland, and the Czech Republic — all here at the school.

There are a couple of people around my age but most are younger. They seem to be learning Spanish for their businesses.  The guy from the Czech Republic studied two weeks in Antiqua, Guatemala and then a week here.  He is going  next to Peru just to travel.

The guy from Holland has traveled all over the world, mostly on local buses. He has great stories of riding the buses in Asia.  And a lot about drugs.

I think of myself as a world traveler. But I am learning that many people travel every year. It seems you are either a traveler or not. There doesn’t seeem top be any in between.

I am going to try to catch up with the people I am meeting here. Maybe I can sleep in dark, loud hotels all over the world.

It is around 2, and I now go back to the city and leave at 7:15 tomorrow morning for home. Tomorrow night I will sleep in my own bed. That sounds good and bad.

Believe it or not I was able to watch part of the Akron game on TV. It was pretty exciting. I think the future looks bright for both the men’s and women’s programs.

You might wonder why I am watching television here instead of being out partying?  Once it gets dark, going out by yourself, whether you are a man or a woman, really isn’t a good idea. The main tourist drag is pretty safe, but once you get off of that they tell you to be very careful.

So signing off and going to catch the shuttle. I cannot wait to show people pictures of where I stayed and what the school looks like. I’ll put them on the blog. 

By the way, I can’t see what I’m writing for some reason, so I hope this makes sense.

Adios, amigos.

Leave a Reply

