See The Vagina Monologues at UA Feb. 13-14


vday09-logo-webThe Vagina Monologues is a V-Day benefit event from The University of Akron presented by the UA Women’s Studies Program this weekend, Feb. 13 – 14, at 7 p.m. in Knights Auditorium in Leigh Hall on The University of Akron campus.

Eve Ensler’s world-renowned play is presented as part of V-Day to raise awareness about the global issue of violence against women and to raise money to support the end of this misogynistic epidemic that confronts the entire world. This year, funds raised from the annual event will go toward helping women of the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Tickets are $8 for members of the University of Akron community. For tickets, call 330-972-7008 or stop in the Women’s Studies Program office at Schrank Hall North 58. Tickets are also available at the door.

Questions? E-mail the UA student feminist organization, L.I.P. Service, at lipservice.ua@gmail.com.

Need help locating University of Akron campus buildings? Download a campus map as a PDF.

5 Responses

  1. […] See The Vagina Monologues at UA Feb. 13-14 […]

  2. This weekend’s performances were amazing! I wanted to share an e-mail I got at around 7:00 a.m. Saturday morning
    “The show was outstanding. You caught the essence of what it was supposed to be all about. I brought friends who have never experienced V. Monologues and they were amazed. One even remarked about how everying in it had been presented {to her} at one time or another, but this time she ‘got it.’ Especially femicide. Putting it out there like this does give it more meaning than hearing about it on the news or from some other media source. This was my 3rd time and it still sounds fresh, bold and wildly entertaining. Bravo!
    Looking forward to next year, and I’ll bring more friends.

  3. I thought the show was amazing! It was so inspiring! It made me laugh and cry all at the same time! The women who played the roles did an awesome job. I will definitely be seeing this performance again. I took my mother and my grandmother with me to see the show and it was a great bonding moment for all of us. We talked about our favorite parts of the show the whole way home. My favorite part definitely had to be the discussion on the tampons! I also loved the belly dancer!

  4. […] from UA performances Posted on February 24, 2009 by Pat Millhoff Whether you attended The Vagina Monologues or not, I think you will enjoy seeing the photos from this year’s production at The […]

  5. This is quite a hot information. I think I’ll share it on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

